Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search

Search The Catalog



Last summer on State Street [large print] : a novel / Toya Wolfe.

Wolfe, Toya, (author).

Summary:

"For fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Brit Bennett, a striking coming-of-age debut about friendship, community, and resilience, set in the housing projects of Chicago during one life-changing summer. Even when we lose it all, we find the strength to rebuild. Felicia "Fe Fe" Stevens is living with her vigilantly loving mother and older teenaged brother, whom she adores, in building 4950 of Chicago's Robert Taylor Homes. It's the summer of 1999, and her high-rise is next in line to be torn down by the Chicago Housing Authority. She, with the devout Precious Brown and Stacia Buchanan, daughter of a Gangster Disciple Queen-Pin, form a tentative trio and, for a brief moment, carve out for themselves a simple life of Double Dutch and innocence. But when Fe Fe welcomes a mysterious new friend, Tonya, into their fold, the dynamics shift, upending the lives of all four girls. As their beloved neighborhood falls down around them, so too do their friendships and the structures of the four girls' families. Fe Fe must make the painful decision of whom she can trust and whom she must let go. Decades later, as she remembers that fateful summer--just before her home was demolished, her life uprooted, and community forever changed--Fe Fe tries to make sense of the grief and fraught bonds that still haunt her and attempts to reclaim the love that never left. Profound, reverent, and uplifting, Last Summer on State Street explores the risk of connection against the backdrop of racist institutions, the restorative power of knowing and claiming one's own past, and those defining relationships which form the heartbeat of our lives. Interweaving moments of reckoning and sustaining grace, debut author Toya Wolfe has crafted an era-defining story of finding a home -- both in one's history and in one's self"-- Provided by publisher

Record details

  • ISBN: 9798885783484
  • Physical Description: 319 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
  • Edition: Large print edition.
  • Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, [2022]
Subject: Public housing > Fiction.
Friendship > Fiction.
Community life > Fiction.
Summer > Fiction.
Persistence > Fiction.
Chicago (Ill.) > Fiction.
Genre: Large type books.
Historical fiction.

Available copies

  • 5 of 6 copies available at NC Cardinal. (Show)
  • 2 of 2 copies available at Fontana Regional Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 6 total copies.
Sort by distance from:
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Albert Carlton - Cashiers Community Library LP WOLFE (Text) 39493110093376 Adult Large Print New Fiction Available -
Jackson County Public Library LP WOLFE (Text) 39493109446205 Adult Large Print New Fiction Available -


Additional Resources